Leadership & Staff

Jason N. Brown

Minister of Music and Arts

Office: (804) 358-2383 ext. 121

Questions about chancel choir, handbells, children and youth music opportunities can be directed to Jason.


  • Bible Verse: John 3:17
  • Movies: Elf, Anchorman, Fried Green Tomatoes, O Brother, Where Art Thou?
  • Books: Works by Richard Wright, Nella Larsen, Toni Morrison, George Orwell…
  • TV Shows: The Good Place, West Wing, House of Cards
  • Music: Anything tuneful
  • For fun I like to: cook and entertain

About Jason

I am a native of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, and have come to Richmond most recently from Camden, SC. My involvement in church music and ministry spans north of 25 years, and I have earned degrees in music from the University of Kentucky (Go Cats!) and West Virginia University (Go Mountaineers!). Over the years, I’ve been blessed to make music with the American Spiritual Ensemble, Louisville Bach Society, Kentucky Bach Choir, Houston Grand Opera, and Lexington (KY) Singers.  In New York City, where I also maintain some activity, I’ve been featured with the Roy Prescod Chorale, Fine Art Singers of New York, Symphony Saintpaulia, and Harlem Opera Theater.

I have led music ministries along the eastern seaboard and, in 2012, was honored to serve as a faculty member at the Presbyterian Association of Musicians’ Conference on Music and Worship at Montreat.

Previous Page


Elders are charged with the oversight of the life of our congregation – leading, governing, and caring for its members.  Both individually and collectively (as the Session), elders provide leadership in worship, teaching, mission, evangelism, care and nurture.  Along with the pastors, the elders are the shepherds of the flock.

Deacons are charged with the sympathy, witness and service for all our members. Deacons are persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies and sound judgment. Both individually and collectively (as the Diaconate), deacons provide compassionate care for all church members. 

The Session

Class of 2024

Christina Annas, Congregational Life Chair
Neely Barnhardt, Faith Formation Chair
Caley Cantrell, Membership Chair
Mary D. Ellison, Clerk of Session
LaMont Noble
Nicholas Reynolds, Finance Chair

Class of 2025

Heather Cooper
Elizabeth Darling, Outreach Chair
Clark Lewis
Ann Nickels, Communications Chair
Jim Purser, Nominating Committee Chair
Susan McNulty, Personnel Chair

Class of 2026

Gary Barranger, Property Chair
Eone Beck
Kathy Harris, Worship Chair
Shep Haw
Alison Herring
Charlotte Woodfin

The Diaconate

Class of 2024

Jon Chase
Mary Farrell
Connie Gottwald
Julie Magrath
Jon Morris
Ashley Raggi
Teddy Reynolds
Karen Rohr
Kathy Smallwood
Beth Witt

Class of 2025

Kim Basmajian
Sally Brown
Burton Kunz
Ann Latstetter
Melissa Layfield
Sean McAndrew
Tara Modisett, Moderator
Rose Lane Nimmo
Cortland Putbrese
Christa Santos
Anton Van Thoen
Marsha Williams

Class of 2026

Laura Bland
Blanche Bruns
Madeline Bryson
Bill Collier
Matt Cooper
Martha Mathews
Melissa Mintz
Martha Morrill
Robbie Rice
Meg Simonton
Sheila Smith
Kelly Winters